The Black Reader

PUNCHING THE AIR

In Stock Unavailable

sold in last hours

Regular price $19.99 |  Save $-19.99 (Liquid error (sections/product-template.liquid line 179): divided by 0% off)
/

From award-winning, bestselling author Ibi Zoboi and prison reform activist Yusef Salaam of the Exonerated Five comes a powerful YA novel in verse about a boy who is wrongfully incarcerated. Perfect for fans of Jason Reynolds, Walter Dean Myers, and...
0

Estimated delivery between and .

People looking for this product right now

Product Details

From award-winning, bestselling author Ibi Zoboi and prison reform activist Yusef Salaam of the Exonerated Five comes a powerful YA novel in verse about a boy who is wrongfully incarcerated. Perfect for fans of Jason Reynolds, Walter Dean Myers, and Elizabeth Acevedo. 

The story that I thought

was my life

didn’t start on the day

I was born 

Amal Shahid has always been an artist and a poet. But even in a diverse art school, he’s seen as disruptive and unmotivated by a biased system. Then one fateful night, an altercation in a gentrifying neighborhood escalates into tragedy. “Boys just being boys” turns out to be true only when those boys are white. 

The story that I think

will be my life 

starts today

Suddenly, at just sixteen years old, Amal’s bright future is upended: he is convicted of a crime he didn’t commit and sent to prison. Despair and rage almost sink him until he turns to the refuge of his words, his art. This never should have been his story. But can he change it? 

With spellbinding lyricism, award-winning author Ibi Zoboi and prison reform activist Yusef Salaam tell a moving and deeply profound story about how one boy is able to maintain his humanity and fight for the truth, in a system designed to strip him of both.

Product details

  • Hardcover: 400 pages
  • Publisher: Balzer + Bray (September 1, 2020)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0062996487
  • ISBN-13: 978-0062996480
  • Product Dimensions: 5.5 x 1.2 x 8.2 inches

Shipping & Returns

Returns Policy

SHIPPING Your orders will be shipped within 48 hours of receiving your successful payment. You will also receive an email or text once the books have been shipped, your tracking information will be included. RETURNS Once you have received your shipment you have 48 hours to contact us using the return form below to return your purchase. Please include all requested information to receive in store credit toward another purchase. All products must be returned in resale condition.

Recently Viewed Products

PUNCHING THE AIR

PUNCHING THE AIR

What are you looking for?

Your cart